Congratulations to Kittyhawk scholarship awardees!


FAIRBORN, Ohio –SAME Kittyhawk Post presented the 2013 SAME Kittyhawk Post Scholarship, worth $12,500, to twelve outstanding high school seniors and college students whose studies focus on engineering, architecture, construction, facilities management and/or environmental management/science.

Congratulations to scholarship recipients Travis Bee, Kevin Bloomfield, Peter Bonavita, Jeneé Christensen, Jonathan Flynn, Maksym Gerasimov, Bryan Kolpitcke, Hilary Pederson, Zach Pollock, Michael-Joseph Richardson, Christine Zavakos and Rachel Zavakos. For more details of the students’ remarkable accomplishments, click here.


Kevin Bloomfield received the Curtis Scholarship from Col. Jeff Todd


Jeneé Christensen received the Butt Construction Scholarship from Ian Butt and Col. Jeff Todd


Jonathan Flynn received the Curtis Scholarship from Col. Jeff Todd

Not pictured: Peter Bonavita received the Barnes Scholarship; Bryan Kolpitcke received the Turek Family Scholarship; Travis Bee received the Woolpert Scholarship; Christine Zavakos received the Barnes Scholarship; Hilary Pederson and Maksym Gerasimov received the Sinclair Scholarship; Zach Pollock received the LJB Scholarship; Michael-Joseph Richardson received the Eric Su Yong Goltz Scholarship and  Rachel Zavakos received the Barnes Scholarship.

Proceeds for these scholarships were made possible by contributions from Sustaining Members URS and Gannett Fleming, along with proceeds from the SAME Kittyhawk Post’s annual golf outing. In addition, Butt Construction, The Goltz family, LJB, The Turek family and Woolpert funded scholarships that were awarded in their names. The competition was extremely keen, with over 40 outstanding students applying for the merit-based scholarships.

SAME Kittyhawk Post, based out of Fairborn, Ohio, holds their monthly programs at Wright Patterson AFB. Learn more at For more information, please contact Kim Duncan at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *